» Overview

he Saratoga Cemetery District was created by voters in 1927 to provide cost-effective burials for residents and property owners in the District. It is chartered by the California State Health and Safety Code Section 9000, known as the Public Cemetery District Law. This 1909 law was enacted by the California legislature to create public cemetery districts to maintain, operate and acquire cemeteries to provide for the burial needs of their communities. The District owns Madronia Cemetery, a 12.5 acre parcel located within the city of Saratoga.

Taxpayer supported

Saratoga Cemetery District is an independent special district governed by an appointed Board of Trustees. Its operating budget is supplemented by revenue from property taxes paid by district property owners. This tax revenue is a portion of the 1% countywide property tax.

District Boundary

The District includes the cities of Saratoga and Monte Sereno as well as unincorporated lands west of the cities to the Santa Clara County line. You can view the District Map here. ( 2MB )